1 year later

20130404-214521.jpg
The Red Poppy. The flower of remembrance. My grandfather always gave me those paper poppy flowers. I always saved them even though I didn’t really understand until recently the significance.
This is going to get a little personal just a fair warning. My grandfather passed a year ago tomorrow. He was a WWII vet. He fought in all three theaters during the war with the Navy. I am one of his two grandchildren and only granddaughter, so it’s safe to say I’m the favorite. He was genuine and kind. Always thinking of others and going out of his way to make everyone smile. I will say I can not think of a better way to celebrate him than Maryland’s favorite holiday…Opening Day.
My grandfather is, was and will always be the most amazing person I have ever had the pleasure of knowing. I’m not sure if he knew how much I admired him but I know he knew how much I loved him. Patient, thoughtful and humble. He always knew what to say. I remember the first scare in the hospital when the doctors weren’t sure if he would make it much longer. I had some time with him. I still draw on that day when I’m going through a rough time. He obviously was to go yet because we were lucky enough to have another few years with him.
My grandfather never judged me. He never thought my life plans were silly. He always supported me and always brightened my day. I knew whenever I would see him he would have a present for me. In fact I still have the jar of pickles he gave me the day we told my grandparents I was pregnant with their first great grand child. I can’t bring myself to open it now.
My grandad was my biggest fan. Every day I think about him and I remember how loving and how loved he was.
He would have wanted me to smile, to laugh and to try my best every day.
So I will.
I will smile at my husband who is the second greatest man I have ever met right behind my grandfather.
I will laugh with my children and be as silly as possible.
I will always try to be the best mother, wife, daughter, sister, friend and person that I can.
One day when I see him again I’m sure he will greet me with a “Hey Hon!” A smile and a big jar of pickles and an ice scraper for my car.

Leave a Reply

